Home

“I just want to be someone’s everything, is that too much to ask?” She paused to sip her wine “Is that selfish?” she pouted

The older woman regarded her child coolly placing her wine back on the table eyeing it suspiciously “If you too had the ability to love someone the way you’ve described, then it wouldn’t so selfish no, but you do not.”

She looked up from her nails “Mother!”

“What?”

“You really think this lowly of me?”

“I don’t think lowly of you at all. I think you are an extraordinarily beautiful young woman, highly intelligent and capable,” she paused to take another sip of wine.

Her daughter beamed.

“But you my dear are not capable of love. You have never been and you never will be. I knew it when you were five years old and…”

“Oh mother! I am tired of listening to this story!” she was annoyed.

“Don’t throw tantrums,” she said “You know how you get when you have a tantrum.”

” Only children throw tantrums. I’m not a child.” She said proudly

“No darling, not anymore. You should not consider his offer, the boy truly does adore you and you cannot reciprocate,”

“But mother he has such nice things,” she pouted again

“Yes, and many children and small animals that play on his property. You know how you are with children and small animals, must I repeat that horrid story of the time when you were five?”

She looked up again from her nails “When I drowned our cat?” she said flatly

“And then when you were 12? No one could prove it but I knew… I just knew it was you,”

“They wouldn’t let me play,  said that a silly little girl like me couldn’t play because I was weak. I guess I wasn’t so weak after all,” she chuckled ” And that cat was horrid,”

“Emma this is not funny, you’re not curable, you must control this thing! Or you’ll wind up a spinster,”

“Heavens no!” she covered her mouth in mock horror “Whatever will I do an older lady, left all alone in a grand old home her mother left her,”

“I can still change my will and leave you nothing so that you’ll be forced to change your terrible ways,” the woman threatened

“You won’t have time Mother,” she rolled her eyes and commenced fiddling with the polish on her nails.

“And why do you think that?” she took a confident sip of wine “I am not that old,”

“Drink up Mother,” she turned herblazing gaze back to her mother

“You wouldn’t,” the woman gasped

“I have. It is done,” she raised her eyebrows at her mother who sat silently staring back at her.  “Well Mother, don’t waste the wine…”

red wine

10 thoughts on “Don’t Waste the Wine

  1. Hey there terrific website! Does running a blog such as this take a massive amount work? I have virtually no expertise in coding however I was hoping to start my own blog soon.Anyway, should you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners please
    share. I know this is off topic however I just had to ask.
    Thank you!

    • You know how they say that if you love what you do you’ll never “work” a day in your life? I like to think of my writing that way. Whatever you choose to write about will be something that is obviously near and dear to you so you’ll pour everything you’ve got into it, and you’ll love it! My tip is to write as often as you can, or you’ll lose the attention of your followers. 🙂 Hope that helps.

  2. Thank you, I have recently been looking for a really cool short story blog. However, concerning the conclusion I’m a bit confused. What’s going on?

    • Mother and daughter are speaking over a glass of wine about her not accepting her beau’s proposal because she’s a sociopath. She decides she’d rather be a spinster anyway to live in her mother’s home until she dies. Mother threatens to change her will, but daughter has already poisoned her wine.

  3. With havin so much content and articles do you ever
    run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My blog has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any methods to help protect against content from being ripped off? I’d really appreciate it.

    • I haven’t worried about people stealing my work because I honestly didn’t think they were good enough to steal, my advice would be to warn whomever has stolen your work that you intend to take legal action. Also place a copyright notice on your blog, that may help them think twice about plagiarism.

  4. Hi just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same outcome.

Leave a Reply

