Home

“You’re walking too close to the edge. “

“I know,”

“So, step the hell back. I feel the air from the train it’s coming any second …”

“So?”

“So…? Were you hoping to die today? I’m puzzled … ” She rolled her eyes

“No, not today… but someday,”

“You always speak in riddles, this is irritating”

“Why?”

“Conversation with you shouldn’t be a chore… “

“Is conversation with me a chore?”

“Yes, sometimes it really is.  I never know if you’re serious sometimes, and you speak so nonchalantly about other things. Really, really serious things sometimes.”

“Like what?” his eyes were large with curiosity

“Like… death.”

Right then the train pulled up and the conversation was paused, until they stepped onto the car.

” So, death scares you?”

She nodded lightly, studying his face “Sometimes,” she whispered.

“OK, I won’t ever bring it up again,” he smiled down at her “like, ever!” he said with mock excitement.

Her shoulders fell ” I don’t know why I bother…” she turned away from him to face the window.

He stood behind her looking at her stare at him in the reflection, he moved closer to her and reached his arm around her neck to give her a hug from behind. He then, kissed the top of her head. “It’s not easy with me, and I’m sorry. I’m really trying though,”

“Well, fucking try harder… my patience is wearing thin Dan,”

“OK,” he said simply

“Alright,” she replied.

Suddenly he spun her around and planted a kiss on her lips, he pulled back quickly and peered steadily into her eyes “I have an idea. Let’s get off at the next stop,” he smiled.

She smiled back at him, excited by his spontaneity “OK,” she agreed.

At the next stop they left the train, and stood at the platform “So?” she questioned “What are we waiting for?”

He smiled at her and walked to the edge of the platform and stood on the yellow warning line.

Her smile faded “Dan, what the hell are you doing?”

“Join me?” his smile broadened “live on the edge… literally.” he chuckled.

She walked over toward him ” I can feel the other train coming,” she said

“Yeah, me too,” he nodded

She too stood on the yellow warning line facing him, she peered up at him questioningly “C’mon what’s this about?” she chuckled…

Just then the train’s lights became visible to him in the distance, she faced him so she couldn’t see. He grabbed her face and kissed her again deeply, he pulled back and stared into her eyes “You shouldn’t be afraid of death baby,” he said softly.

She smiled at his tenderness “OK,” she giggled “are you trying to kill me?”

He chuckled and replied simply “Yes,” as he pushed her in front of the fast approaching train. It ran over her before she could scream.

20131210-164419.jpg

Leave a Reply

